Ne-Yo Closer

I met Ne-Yo once when flying back from a trip to Tokyo. He had just finished a world tour and I was sitting next to all his dancers. I’d never heard of him at the time, but his dancers assured me that I had and would be hearing more of him in the years to come. The girl next to me gave me her ipod and I listened to a few of his tunes and I did recongnize his music. Half way through the flight Ne-Yo himself came back to check on his dancing troupe and they introduced me to him. He was very nice and humble and absolutely stunning. I remember thinking he sounded a bit like Michael Jackson, and that’s because he does. Michael Jackson was a fan, he once told Ne-Yo (about the song ‘Closer’) `When you do that, it doesn’t feel like you’re trying to copy me or trying to be me. It feels like you’re complimenting me.’

Lately Michael had asked Ne-Yo to write some songs for his comeback tour. I wonder if Ne-Yo will ever perform these songs now that Michael can’t. I hope he does.

Leave a Reply

